News and Notices

- March 07, 2022

The Councils of the Municipalities of Callander, East Ferris and Powassan and the Townships of Bonfield, Chisholm and Nipissing invite applications from citizens who wish to be considered for appointment to a Municipal Elections Compliance Audit Committee to represent all of the above-named municipalities. There will be modest compensation for meeting attendance.
The term of office will expire on November 14, 2026.
If one or more applications are received for an audit of municipal elections expenses of one or more candidates, the Committee will be required to:
a) consider a compliance audit application received from an elector and decide whether it should be granted or rejected;
b) if the application is granted, appoint an auditor;
c) receive the auditor’s report;
d) consider the auditor’s report and decide whether legal proceedings should be commenced; and
e) recover the costs of conducting the compliance audit from the applicant if there were no apparent contraventions and if there appears to be no reasonable grounds for having made the application.
The powers and functions of the Committee are set out in section 81 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996.
Membership will be drawn from the following groups:
a) accounting and audit – accountants or auditors with experience in preparing or auditing the financial statements of municipal candidates;
b) experience working on committees, task forces or similar settings;
c) legal;
d) professionals who in the course of their duties are required to adhere to codes of standards of their profession which may be enforced by disciplinary tribunals; and
e) other individuals with demonstrated knowledge of the campaign financing rules of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996.
Persons interested in, and eligible, to serve on the above committee are asked to submit a letter of interest outlining their qualifications to:
Kris Croskery-Hodgins, Municipal Administrator
Township of Nipissing
45 Beatty Street
Nipissing ON P0H 1W0
Letters of interest will be received until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, April 1, 2022.


The Municipality of Powassan
250 Clark Street PO Box 250 Powassan, ON P0H 1Z0 | Phone: 705-724-2813 | Fax: 705-724-5533 |

View Site Map | Legal Disclaimer | Copyright Information | Accessibility